The Viability of Irrigating Northern Botswana

Hello all, I was looking at a map of Northern Botswana/Zambesia, and couldn't help to notice the amount of lakes, rivers and even the oasis/inland delta which all exist in the region. I even came across the fact that a large lake existed in the region, and is considered by scientists to be the origins of Homo sapiens. I wondered, what if either Botswana or perhaps European settlers, maybe spurred by an earlier discovery of diamonds in the region, overtook mass irrigation projects. Perhaps, through redirecting rivers, such as the Kwando/Linyanti, building dams on other rivers, and building large reservoirs and aquifers, some sort of large scale irrigation could be taken on.

Now, because I am not an expert in terraforming nor engineering, I wished to ask the community the following questions:
  1. Could/would a Botswanan/European government be willing to undertake such a project?
  2. How early could this project be undertaken? I assume that it would be possible with 20th century technology, and thus could be reasonably initiated at any time during the 20th century, but I would like to know if I have assumed wrong.
  3. Would this project, if the parameters of permanently flooding the Makgadikgadi Pan, and creating other lakes and irrigations channels in the region, be useful in the long run? Or would it just be a massive waste of time, money, energy and resources?
I have provided some diagrams and pictures below:
1-s2.png

Lake-level-scenarios-with-focus-on-the-Makgadikgadi-Basin-A-Around-46-ka-main-inflow.png

Makgadikgadi_Lake_Basin_OSM.png

This is partially a bump, but, the existence of a lake would increase the amount of rain in Namibia and Angola, due to the Lake Effect, correct?