Alternate Apartheid Story

Hi all!

So this is my first time posting in this forum. For a while now I have been extremely interested in the history of South Africa during Apartheid due to the perceived uniqueness of this situation. Additionally, I have noticed that due to the topic of Apartheid being taboo very few people bother to dig deep and uncover the underlying reasons for the system's failure. Most simply chalk it up to the impossibility of a rather small white minority ruling over an entire black country. My research into the topic, however, has revealed that Apartheid, just like many other controversial historical periods, wasn't black-and-white (pun semi-intended). Additionally, the collapse of Apartheid wasn't a foregone conclusion until the mid to late 1980's. There were, indeed, many efforts to preserve Apartheid, especially by reforming it. Therefore, over the past few weeks I've been writing an alternate history scenario in which the white government of South Africa resolves to try and maintain its system of racial segregation through various means. This scenario is largely based on real historical facts and events supplemented with fictional elements here and there to make the scenario work. The story starts in 1978 with the election of PW Botha as Prime-Minister and the POD is in 1980.

I've done a lot of research writing this piece and I hope that you not only enjoy it but also find it plausible enough. Of course, as I am extremely interested in the topic, I will welcome any criticisms, accusations of ASB's and informed opinions contributing to a general discussion of history and specifically the likelihood of this scenario.

Lastly, I feel obligated to say that I do not hold any White Supremacist views and, in general, do not support Apartheid, especially in the way that it was implemented OTL.

Having said all of this, I hope you guys enjoy the first two Chapters.

South Africa: Birth of a New Nation

The Black Question